John Williams and John C. Williams, carpenters

Williams

In memory of Eliza, wife of the late John Williams, who died Feb. 17th 1889, aged 84 [?] years.

John C. Williams, born Oct. 27th 1837, died Nov. 18th, 1873. Erected by his wife. "Boast not thyself of to-morrow for thou knowest not what a day may bring forth."

The Williams lot was purchased from Henry Chestnut in 1864.

John Williams, husband of Eliza, was a carpenter and a builder. He built and lived in the first house below the gaol on George Street.

John C. Williams, also a carpenter, was his son.

The eldest daughter of John and Eliza Williams, Elizabeth H., married John Robinson in 1857. The widow Eliza Williams and her children, John, Henry, Emma, and Fanny, shared a house with the John Robinson family in 1871.

Colonial Farmer, Fredericton, NB, 30 October 1871:

m. Christ Church, 18th inst., by Rev. J.C. Pearson, Charles C. VAIL, Carleton (St. John) / Frances M. WILLIAMS d/o late John WILLIAMS, Fredericton City.

Dr. Vail or Dr. Cougle?

Cougle

Footstone:

G.H.M.

Dr. Edwin (Vail) Cougle was the son of Dr. John C. Vail and the grandson of the Reverend Oliver Arnold, Loyalist, Lieutenant of the Volunteers of New England, 1781, and the first rector of Sussex. Edwin Vail took the surname of his first wife, Charlotte, a granddaughter of John Cougle, Loyalist, Captain of the New Jersey Volunteers, 1776, who settled at Sussex Corner.

Dr. Edwin Cougle’s second wife, Fanny, was a sister of Dr. Jasper Nugent Murphy. The footstone in the Cougle plot refers to the grave of Mrs. Murphy. She was born soon after the duel fought in October 1821 in which her father, George Ludlow Wetmore, was killed and she was christened George Ludlow Harriet, the names of her deceased father and that of her mother. She is buried in Section J with her husband.

See also The Old Burying Ground, Vol. III, p. 280.